Celebrate gift container

I’ve mentioned before that I’m a fan of unique packaging. I’ve been experimenting with upcycling packaging from products I buy and repurposing them into gift wrap.

Cylindrical shaped containers are the most fun and I’ve wrapped two gifts recently using cleaned out nut containers, including one to wrap a T-shirt birthday present for my friend, Rachel.

Here’s how it turned out:

And here’s how I did it:
I started with white wrapping paper, the empty/clean nut container, tape and scissors.

I cut the white wrapping paper to fit around the container and taped it in place. I wanted a blank canvas to decorate.

I wrapped coordinating ribbons around the container and secured them with a glue dot.

I cut out the word “celebrate” several times and in various sizes from cardstock using my Cricut and the Celebrations cartridge and adhered them to the container with a glue stick.

I made a tag on a piece of white cardstock cut into a circle, hand-wrote a message, glue dotted on a bow and adhered the whole thing to the lid of the container.

I wrapped the actual gift in tissue paper and tucked it into the container.

Again, the finished package:
Ta-da.

Tomorrow I’ll show you how I used the same type of container for a fun baby shower gift. Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Celebrate gift container

  1. Like the word upcycling we havent heard it yet over here but i will use it from now on as have been a fan of saving gift wrappings (got this from my mum) and re inventing them into new gift wraps a la fen for many years

    • Upcycling is catching on over here as a way to refer to taking trash and turning it into something better, not just for gift wrap but for everything. I love the idea of re-using things and reinventing them for a new purpose. Thanks for commenting, I’d love to see your gift wrap creations. I’ll watch for them on your future blog posts.

Leave a Reply

