Field Trip: The Flea off Market

This past Saturday my family and I made a trip to visit the Flea off Market in downtown Louisville. It’s a once a month event where vendors set up booths or tables to hawk their wares. It was my first time attending and the anticipation had grown greatly since I started following their Facebook page a month ago.

It was a beautiful, if somewhat overcast day, not too hot and not too cold, so weather was favorable for an outside event. It did take a couple of swings around the block to find parking, but the actual event wasn’t that crowded.

I’m not a fan of the mouse-like creature on their logo, but I love the play on words for the sign. It’s a flea market off of Market Street. Brilliant.

It wasn’t very big. Just sort of an H-shape around a couple of buildings on East Market Street. Here’s  an overview shot:

Most of the stuff was junk in my opinion, but that’s because it wasn’t really my style (if you like vintage T-shirts, records and earthy-sorts of things this is definitely a place for you). There were some things that caught my eye:
I don’t know why, but I like this piece of art.

And this spoon:
If I ate breakfast on that every morning my self-esteem would be through the roof.

This guy:
For a fee, he’ll use that typewriter to write a limerick or haiku for you on the spot. That’s skills I can respect.

A dessert truck:
I didn’t eat anything from this van, but I fully support their motto of eating dessert first.

The band:
Quite entertaining.

My group didn’t purchase anything and it only took about 30 minutes to see the whole flea market. I was expecting something bigger but I’m hopeful the event will continue to grow and that if I return in a year I’ll find more to my liking. It’s a great idea with lots of potential.

Thanks for reading At Home with Mrs. Hampton.

Leave a comment